Saying Farewell: Hannah’s Review of Interning with E&L Global Communications

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a full and fulfilling 2 months interning with E&L Global Communications and as sad as I am to leave, I walk away knowing that the growth I have seen in myself is tremendous! Though never shy or lacking confidence, I can undoubtedly say that I walk and speak more sure of myself than ever. As I approach my final year at Central Michigan majoring in Fashion Design, I know that I am more qualified than ever to find my dream career out of school.

I was asked by the E&L Global Communications Management Team to write a short summary of things I loved about my internship, something that could have been improved and what I recommend for  the company…so here we go!!

Pros:

Wow, I truly don’t even know where to start!

 Management genuinely cared about me and my well-being (in and outside of the work place.) They gave me personalized one-on- one coaching catering to my goals and how I personally learn best.

COMPANY CULTURE!! When you’re surrounded by great people with the sameprofessional goals and mindset as you, what more could you want? I’ve truly metsome of the greatest people in my time here that I will always remember.

Team nights!!! Once a week we would head out after work to catch happy hour or play sand volleyball and the bonds I was able to form outside of work were even stronger than inside the office!

 Management is always setting goals, which means CONSTANT growth and CONSTANT motivation to succeed. Such an amazing atmosphere to be apart of.

Cons:

Part of me wants to say that I wish the internship were paid, but the other half of me says no. Yes absolutely, having a paid internship would have been great, but I do think that having an unpaid internship really weeds out who is there solely for a paycheck, versus who is there to genuinely learn, succeed, and see results in their work. So for me, I did not mind that the internship was unpaid, but I think maybe more applicants would consider short term and long term employment in the future if it were a paid opportunity.

Advice to Management:

Keep up the motivating and inspiring atmosphere of the office. That kind of energy is contagious and can motivate people to do things they never thought they could – because that’s what it did for me.

XOXO,

Hannah Wickman

Hannah-Wickman-Internship-Headshot

